Executive

The CAAS Board of Directors consists of the principal executive members elected annually and the Editors of the Canadian Journal of African Studies who are ex-officio.

The principal contacts for the CAAS Board of Directors for 2019-20 are:

President

Uwafiokun Idemudia

Department of Social Science, York University

pres@caas-acea.org

idemudia@yorku.ca

 

Outgoing President

Meredith Terretta

Department of History, University of Ottawa

expres@caas-acea.org

@MTerretta

 

Vice-President

Temitope Oriola

University of Alberta

vicepres@caas-acea.org

 

Secretary-Treasurer

Miriam Grant

Vice Provost and Dean, Graduate & Postdoctoral Studies

University of British Columbia, Okanagan

miriam.grant@ubc.ca

sectreas@caas-acea.org

 

Member-at-Large

Nathan Andrews

University of Northern British Columbia 

nathan.andrews@unbc.ca

 

Member-at-Large

Nadège Compaoré

University of Toronto

member2@caas-acea.org

 

Finance Chair

Bonny Ibhawoh

McMaster University

ibhawoh@mcmaster.ca

 

Digital Innovator

Katrina Keefer

History Department, Trent University

katrinakeefer@trentu.ca

 

2020 Conference Organizer

Nicole Haggerty

Western University

nhaggerty@ivey.ca

 

Graduate Student Representatives

Gladys Akua Agyeiwaa Denkyi - Manieson

Central University and University of Ghana

akuaamanieson@gmail.com

 

Dianah Byaruhanga Ajuna

University of Ottawa and Open AIR

dajun069@uottawa.ca

 

Esther Ekong

University of Ottawa and Open AIR

oekon035@uottawa.ca

 

Canadian Journal of African Studies

cjas-rcea@caas-acea.org

 

Coordinating Editor

Belinda Dodson

Dept. of Geography, University of Western Ontario 

bdodson@uwo.ca

 

Editors

Julie Archambault

Dept. of Sociology and Anthropology, Concordia University 

juliesoleil.archambault@concordia.ca

 

Martin Evans

Dept. of Geography and International Development, University of Chester 

m.evans@chester.ac.uk

 

Philippe Frowd

University of Ottawa

pfrowd@uottawa.ca


Gillian Mathys

Ghent University

Gillian.Mathys@UGent.be


Jean Ntakirutimana

Brock University

jntakirutimana@brocku.ca


Vanessa Oliveira

Royal Military College

vsol.oliveira@gmail.com

 

Book Review Editor

Jonathan Roberts

Dept. of History, Mount Saint Vincent University 

jonathan.roberts@msvu.ca

 

Managing Editor

Roger Riendeau

Innis College, University of Toronto 

roger.riendeau@utoronto.ca

 

CAAS Office

Canadian Association of African Studies

Institute of African Studies, 439 Paterson Hall

Carleton University

1125 Colonel By Dr.

Ottawa ON K1S 5B6

Tel: (613) 520-2600 x 2220

Email: caasacea@caas-acea.org

Director of the IAS

Audace Gatavu, Executive Director, execdir@caas-acea.org

Sarah Katz-Lavigne, CAAS Communications and Advocacy Officer, communications@caas-acea.org