2020 Congress Graduate Merit Award (CGMA)

The Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences has received the financial support provided by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) in order to pilot the Congress Graduate Merit Award (CGMA) program in 2019-2020.

The CGMA is a merit-based award aimed at facilitating the participation of exceptional graduate students in Congress activities. The Federation will administer the Award in collaboration with the Canadian Association of African Studies (CAAS) as one the scholarly associations planning to hold a conference during Congress 2020, at Western University.

More information on eligibility and how to apply, click here

CAAS Prizes

The Joel Gregory Book Prize is awarded every two years to recognize the best book published in African Studies in the humanities and social sciences. The Fraser Taylor Prize is awarded annually to the best graduate paper presented at the previous CAAS Conference.

Joel Gregory Prize 2020

Since 1989, the Canadian Association of African Studies has recognized excellence in scholarship on Africa by awarding the Joel Gregory Prize. Prior to his death in 1988, Professor Gregory was a leading demographer at the University of Monteal and served as President of the Canadian Association of African Studies and Editor of the Canadian Journal of African Studies.

The Joel Gregory Prize is awarded to the best book published in African Studies in the social sciences and humanities, written by a Canadian, a landed immigrant, or an African who has completed a PhD program in Canada or who has worked in a Canadian organization devoted to the promotion of knowledge of Africa.

Valued at $1,000, the Joel Gregory Prize is announced at the Annual Meeting of the Canadian Association of African Studies. Nominations are accepted in the two years preceding the conferring of the Prize. Nominations are currently being accepted for the 2020 Joel Gregory Prize for books published (or to be published) in 2018 and 2019.

A Committee of three distinguished scholars is appointed by the Canadian Association of African Studies to consider nominees. Publishers are expected to send a copy of their nominated book to each of the addresses below before March 20, 2020.

  1. Nadège Compaore
    Department of Political Science, 
    University of Toronto, 100 St. George Street, Toronto Ontario,  M5S 3G3, Canada;
  2. Meredith Terretta
    Human Rights Research and Education Centre, 5th Floor, Fauteux Building, University of Ottawa, 57 Louis-Pasteur, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6N5, Canada;
  3. Temitope Oriola
    5-21 Tory Building, Department of Sociology, University of Alberta,
    Edmonton, Alberta, T6G 2H4, Canada.

Edited collections are excluded from the competition, but co-authored works which come under the criteria of paragraph two above are not. Multi-authored works cannot be considered, nor can textbooks, syntheses or works which survey the field.

The criteria are as follows:

  1. The work must be original and be deemed by the Committee to have a potential seminal impact on African Studies;
  2. It must portray an innovative methodological approach or innovative analytical/theoretical perspective, preferably transcending individual disciplines;
  3. It must be based on extensive research;
  4. It must be written in a clear, accessible manner.

The Fraser Taylor Prize

Graduate students presenting papers at the annual CAAS Conference are eligible for the Fraser Taylor Prize. The Prize, named after a long-time Carleton geographer and valued at $500, is awarded annually to the best graduate student paper presented at the previous CAAS Conference.

Essays must follow consistent CJAS style guidelines, including a title page, a bibliography, and parenthetical references within the text. Essays may be revised before submission: the essay must be a final draft as if submitted for publication. Please send your essay as an attachment to by June 30 after the end of the current CAAS conference. If the selection committee feels that a paper is publishable or near-publishable, it will be eligible for the prize. Should it win the prize, winners are invited to submit their manuscripts to the Canadian Journal of African Studies. CJAS editors will work with the student to facilitate its publication in the Journal. The previous year’s prize will be announced at the annual conference. Papers must be unpublished and must have been presented at the annual CAAS conference. Co-authored papers are accepted, but all co-authors must be graduate students.